American Studies Prizes

American Studies Prizes

Faculty readers may nominate senior essays that they find to be outstanding for one of a number of prizes listed below.  Decisions are made at the end of the spring semester.  Both one-term and yearlong essays are eligible for consideration.

Percival W. Clement Prize (1994). Awarded to a junior or senior for the best thesis in the support of the principles of the Constitution of the United States of America and the first ten amendments. Also open to students in History and Political Science.

Henry K. Hayase Prize (1988). Friends and alumni in memory of Henry K. Hayase, B.A. 1973. Awarded for the best student paper or senior thesis dealing with a topic relating to the Asian American experience in the United States. This prize is administered by the Program in Ethnicity, Race and Migration.

Norman Holmes Pearson Prize (1976). Students, colleagues, and friends in memory of Professor Norman Holmes Pearson, B.A. 1932, Ph.D. 1941. Awarded to a senior in Yale College majoring in American Studies for the best senior essay.

Richard Hegel Prize for a Senior Essay on New Haven (2001). Sponsored by the Yale Club of New Haven, the Hegel Prize was awarded for the first time in celebration of Yale’s Tercentennial year. The prize is named in honor of Richard Hegel because of his enduring commitment to the partnership of the University and the City of New Haven. The Hegel Prize is to be awarded for an outstanding senior essay pertaining to the greater New Haven area. Senior essays from any department of Yale College are eligible.