American Studies Alumni Sarah Haley and A. Naomi Paik are ASA Award Winners

November 1, 2017

Sarah Haley (Yale AMST PhD 2010) won the 2017 Laura Romero First Book Publication Prize for her book, There’s No Mercy Here: Gender, Punishment, and the Making of Jim Crow Modernity.

Also recognized as a Finalist for the 2017 John Hope Franklin Prize for best book in American Studies is A. Naomi Paik (Yale AMST PhD 2009) 

Rightlessness: Testimony and Redress in U.S. Prison Camps since World War II (University of North Carolina Press).