People

Faculty
Areas of Interest
Jean-Christophe Agnew
Prof American Studies and History (On leave, Spring 2018)
HGS 102
jean-christophe.agnew@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7676
Laura Barraclough
Associate Professor American Studies
HGS 2683
laura.barraclough@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3331
James Berger
Sr Lect American Studies and English
405 Byers Hall, SM
james.berger@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-9131
Ned Blackhawk
Professor History & American Studies (On leave, Academic Year 2017-2018)
ES L01
ned.blackhawk@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8530
David Blight
Class of 1954 Professor of American Hist and Afr Am Studies and American Studies (On leave, Spring 2018)
HGS 104
david.blight@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8521, 203-432-3339
Ryan Brasseaux
Dean of Davenport College and Lecturer in American Studies
Davenport College Dean’s Office, 248 York St.
ryan.brasseaux@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0555
Daphne Brooks
Professor African American Studies, Theater Studies and American Studies
81 Wall St, New Haven, CT 06511-6606
daphne.brooks@yale.edu
Phone: 203-777-7558
Hazel Carby
Charles C & Dorathea S Dilley Professor African American Studies & American Studies (On leave, Academic Year 2017-2018)
81 Wall, 306
hazel.carby@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9059
Edward Cooke
Charles F. Montgomery Professor of American Decorative Arts; Chn History of Art; Prof American Studies; Dir Ctr for Study of American Art & Material Culture
Loria 654
edward.cooke@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2724
Michael Denning
William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of American Studies and Professor of English (On leave, Spring 2018)
320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
michael.denning@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-2267
Wai Chee Dimock
William Lampson Professor English & American Studies
LC 417
wai.chee.dimock@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2228
Kathryn Dudley
Professor Anthropology and American Studies; Chair American Studies
HGS 233 | HGS 107
kathryn.dudley@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-6083
Crystal Feimster
Associate Professor African American Studies, American Studies and History
81 Wall, 403
crystal.feimster@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-3563
Joanne Freeman
Professor History and American Studies
HGS 2681
joanne.freeman@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1392
Beverly Gage
Professor of History and American Studies, Brady-Johnson Professor of Grand Strategy
HGS 201
beverly.gage@yale.edu
Phone: +1 203-432-1355; 203-432-1356
Glenda Gilmore
Peter V and C Vann Woodward Professor History, American Studies and African American Studies (On leave, Academic Year 2017-2018)
HGS 222
glenda.gilmore@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1398
Jacqueline Goldsby
Professor of English, African American Studies, and American Studies
81 Wall St., 106
jacqueline.goldsby@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3744
Zareena Grewal
Associate Professor American Studies and Religious Studies
493 Coll, 205
zareena.grewal@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-8168
Inderpal Grewal
Professor WGSS, American Studies and Anthropology; Chn WGSS
WLH 318
inderpal.grewal@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0848
Daniel HoSang
Associate Professor of American Studies and Ethnicity, Race, and Migration
WLH 103
daniel.hosang@yale.edu
Amy Hungerford
Professor English and American Studies; Chn Council of Masters; Divisional Dir, Humanities
Morse College Master's Office| LC 421
amy.hungerford@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0396
Matthew Jacobson
William Robertson Coe Professor of American Studies, History & African American Studies
HGS 109
matthew.jacobson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1186
Greta LaFleur
Assistant Professor American Studies
HGS 2686
greta.lafleur@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-5547
Albert Laguna
Assistant Professor American Studies
HGS 108
albert.laguna@yale.edu
Phone: 203 432-6333
Kathryn Lofton
Professor of Religious Studies, American Studies, History and Divinity; Chair, Religious Studies; Deputy Dean for Diversity and Faculty Development
451 Coll, 106
kathryn.lofton@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0828
Mary Lui
Professor American Studies and History; Head of Timothy Dwight College
TD Coll | HGS 2689
mary.lui@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8288
Joanne Meyerowitz
Arthur Unobskey Professor of History & American Studies; Director of Graduate Studies American Studies
HGS 101 | HGS 230
joanne.meyerowitz@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1713, 203-432-1186
Christine Muller
Lecturer American Studies; Residential College Dean - Saybrook College
242 Elm St
christine.muller@yale.edu
Charles Musser
Professor American Studies, Film & Media Studies and Theater Studies
53 Wall, 217
charles.musser@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0152
Tavia Nyong'o
Professor of American Studies and Theater Studies
220 York St
tavia.nyongo@yale.edu
Stephen Pitti
Professor History and American Studies; Head of Ezra Stiles College
HGS 103, ES Dean's Office
stephen.pitti@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0560
Sally Promey
Professor Inst of Sacred Music, Divinity School and American Studies and Religious Studies; Affiliated Faculty, History of Art
HGS 2675, ISM N210
sally.promey@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-6264, 203-432-7070
Joanna Radin
Assistant Professor in the History of Medicine, Anthropology, History and American Studies
joanna.radin@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-4258
Website
Dixa Ramirez
Assistant Professor American Studies
HGS 106
dixa.ramirez@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-5207
Ana Ramos-Zayas
Professor of American Studies, Ethnicity, Race, and Migration , and Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
WLH 102
ana.ramos-zayas@yale.edu
Joseph Roach
Sterling Professor Theater and English; Professor American Studies and African American Studies
LC 413
joseph.roach@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2231
Marc Robinson
Professor of Theater Studies, of American Studies and of English and Professor in the Practice of Drama
SY P25
marc.robinson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0748
Elihu Rubin
Assistant Professor Sch of Architecture and American Studies
RDH 308
elihu.rubin@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4641
Paul Sabin
Professor History; American Studies and Environmental Studies (On leave, Fall 2017)
HGS 2677
paul.sabin@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-2516
Alicia Schmidt Camacho
Professor American Studies
ES L03
alicia.camacho@yale.edu
Phone: 203.432-5116
Joel Silverman
Lecturer in American Studies and English; Dean, Morse College; Master, Yale Summer Session
Morse College Dean’s Office
j.silverman@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0397
Caleb Smith
Professor English and American Studies
LC 311
caleb.smith@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0574
Robert Stepto
Professor English, American Studies and African American Studies (On leave, Fall 2017)
81 Wall, 404
robert.stepto@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2268, 203-432-1170
Harry Stout
Jonathan Edwards Professor of Religious Studies and Professor of American Studies, of Divinity and of History
451 Coll, 401
harry.stout@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0828
Quan Tran
Lecturer
35 Bdwy 205
quan.tran@yale.edu
Michael Veal
Professor Music Dept and Afr Am Studies and American Studies
STOECKEL
michael.veal@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2990
Michael Warner
Seymour H Knox Professor English and American Studies (On leave, Fall 2017)
DC 115
michael.warner@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2233
John Warner
Chn/Avalon Prof History of Medicine, Prof American Studies Prog & History (On leave, Spring 2018)
SMH L226
john.warner@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-4338
Tisa Wenger
Associate Professor of American Religious History, Divinity School & American Studies
409 Pros, Taylor S126
tisa.wenger@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2493
Laura Wexler
Professor Women's Gender, & Sexuality Studies and American Studies
WLH 314
laura.wexler@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1524
Graduate Students
Areas of Interest
Susie An
susie.an@yale.edu
Gender and Sexuality, Embodiment, Visual Arts, Visual Culture, Cultural Studies, Asian American Studies, Feminist Theory
Bench Ansfield
bench.ansfield@yale.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies, Carceral Studies, Critical Race Theory, Urban History
Danielle Bainbridge
danielle.bainbridge@yale.edu
African American & Caribbean Theatre, Postcolonial Theory, Performance, Literary Criticism, Feminist Theory
Aleshia Barajas
aleshia.barajas@yale.edu
Transnationalism, Citizenship, Ethnography, Latin@s in the U.S., Migration, Border Theory
Anne Berke
anne.berke@yale.edu
Media Industry Studies, Classical Hollywood, Contemporary Hollywood, Gender and Sexuality, American Documentary Film and Video, Photography and Visual Culture, Acting History and Theory, Star Studies
Lucy Caplan
lucy.caplan@yale.edu
African American Intellectual History, Performance Studies, Music and Social Change, 19th- and 20th-Century US Cultural History, Public Humanities
Melissa Castillo-Garsow
melissa.castillo-garsow@yale.edu
Karla Cornejo Villavicencio
karla.cornejo@yale.edu
20th-Century Literature & Poetry, Contemporary Fiction, Material Culture, Courtney Love, Death
Jorge Cuellar
jorge.cuellar@yale.edu
Central American History, Critical Theory, Indigenous Studies
Gavriel Cutipa-Zorn
gavriel.cutipa-zorn@yale.edu
20th-Century US Empire, Transnational Political Subjectivities, Political Sovereignty & Security, Migration & Displacement
Angie Diaz
maria.diaz@yale.edu
Chicano history and historiography, Critical Theory, Cultural Studies, Migration and Diaspora Studies, Race and Ethnicity
Andrew Dowe
andrew.dowe@yale.edu
Gender & Sexuality, Queer of Color Critique, Afro-Caribbean Diaspora
Patricia Ekpo
patricia.ekpo@yale.edu
Queer and Feminist Theory, Temporality, Media Studies, Aesthetics, Critical Race Studies, Performance, Visual Culture, Phenomenology, Death and Depression
William Glasspiegel
william.glasspiegel@yale.edu
Website
Black electronic dance music, dance on film, ethnomusicology, informal media, performance studies
Molly Greene
molly.greene@yale.edu
Interests: American Environmental History, STS, Material and Visual Culture Studies, Feminist/Queer Theory, Landscape Studies, Human Geography
Fadila Habchi
fadila.habchi@yale.edu
African American Literature, Caribbean Literature, Postcolonial Theory, African American Theory
Kristin Hankins
kristin.hankins@yale.edu
Urban history and geography, ethnography, public humanities, and the built environment
Kelsey Henry
kelsey.henry@yale.edu
History of Science and Medicine, Histories of Race, Gender, and Sexuality, Disability Studies, Science and Technology Studies, aging and life course theory, motherhood, reproductive science and politics, care work and emotional labor
Carolyn Jacobs
carolyn.condon@yale.edu
LiLi Johnson
lili.johnson@yale.edu
Asian American Studies, Family and Kinship, Cultural Studies of Science, Genetics and Identity, Affect & Materiality
Kiersten King
kiersten.king@yale.edu
19th-century American and African American Literature, Black Studies, Performance Studies, Affect and Materiality
Christopher Kramaric
christopher.kramaric@yale.edu
Philadelphia Metropolitan Area, Visual Culture, Performance, Histories of Capitalism, Affect & Materiality, Anthropology
Joe Landman
Masters Degree Student
joe.landman@yale.edu
20th century U.S. history; public humanities; gender and sexuality; U.S. military
Ellen Louis
ellen.louis@yale.edu
Black Studies, Feminist Theory, Gender & Sexuality, Critical Theory, Geography, African American Intellectual History, Political Economy, Psychoanalysis, Affect Theory, Postcolonial Theory
Najwa Mayer
najwa.mayer@yale.edu
Critical Race and Ethnicity Studies; Transnational Feminism; Cultural History; Visual and Performance Studies; 20th C US Literature; Contemporary Art; Public Humanities
Devin McGeehan Muchmore
devin.mcgeehanmuchmore@yale.edu
twentieth-century U.S. history, gender and sexuality studies, economic life, age studies and critical gerontology
Lauren Meyer
lauren.meyer@yale.edu
19th and 20th Century US Social and Political History, Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Critical Race Theory, Citizenship Studies
Anya Montiel
annakarenina.montiel@yale.edu
Native American History, Native American Art, Twentieth-century U.S. History, Art and Economics, Museum Studies
Juliet Nebolon
juliet.nebolon@yale.edu
Imperialisms in Asia/Pacific, Settler Colonialism, War/Militarization, 20th-Century US Cultural History, Critical Race Studies, Transnational Feminism, Social & Critical Theory
Ittai Orr
ittai.orr@yale.edu
19th Century American Literature, History of Race, History of Science and Medicine, Disability Studies, Gender and Sexuality
Isabel Ortiz
isabel.ortiz@yale.edu
Feminism, Marxism, Critical Race Theory, Film and Media, Histories of Labor and Industry, Childhood, Science and Technology Studies, Political Economy
Ever Esther Osorio Ruiz
ever.osorioruiz@yale.edu
Camille Owens
camille.owens@yale.edu
African American Studies, theories of race and gender, childhood, theater, performance, spectacle, colorblindness, material culture, visual culture, capitalism and imperialism
Maryam Ivette Parhizkar
maryam.parhizkar@yale.edu
Aesthetics, Poetics, Sound & Experimentation; Critical Race & Ethnic Studies; Migration; 20th/21st Century Performance & Literature; Politics of Representation; Modernisms/Modernities
Hector Peralta
hector.peralta@yale.edu
Border(lands) Studies. Migration and Diaspora Studies. History and Sociology of Education. Critical Pedagogy. 20th Century US Empire.
Sebastián Pérez
sebastian.perez@yale.edu
Latino/a Literatures & Visual Culture, (Post/De)Colonialism, Caribbean Studies, Cultural Studies, Critical Theory
Danya Pilgrim
danya.pilgrim@yale.edu
18th- & 19th-Century US History, African American History, Gender Studies, Public Humanities, Foodways, Digital Humanities
Joseph Plaster
Lecturer
HGS 107
joseph.plaster@yale.edu
Tina Post
tina.post@yale.edu
Performance Studies, African American Arts & Visual Culture, Affect and Materiality, 20th Century African American Literature
Daniella Posy
daniella.posy@yale.edu
Race and Gender Studies, Popular Culture, Film and Media Studies, Urban Studies
Jocelyn Proietti
jocelyn.proietti@yale.edu
Visual art, literature, cultural history, and black feminist performances of self
Andrea Quintero
andrea.quintero@yale.edu
Material Culture
Pedro Regalado
pedro.regalado@yale.edu
20th century American history, Urban History, Race and Ethnicity, Transnational History
Yami Rodriguez
iliana.rodriguez@yale.edu
Issues of immigration, Latin American history, citizenship, race and ethnicity, social movements and US-Latin American relations.
Tyler Rogers
tyler.rogers@yale.edu
Histories of Slavery and Settler Colonialism, Native American & Indigenous Studies, Postcolonial Feminist Theories, Early Colonial American History, Comparative Ethnic Studies
Sasha Sabherwal
sasha.sabherwal@yale.edu
Gender & Sexuality Studies, Transnational Feminism, Postcolonial Studies, South Asian Diaspora, Asian American Studies
jub Sankofa
justin.christopher@yale.edu
African American Studies, U.S. Carceral Regime, 20th Century Policing, Juvenile Justice, Prison Organizing, Reentry & Employer Discrimination, Community Memory, Digital Storytelling & Activism, and Documentary Studies
Aanchal Saraf
aanchal.saraf@yale.edu
Critical Race Theory; Feminist/Queer Theory; Political Ecology; Ethnography; Geography; Imperialisms in Asia/Pacific; Settler Colonialism; Performance Ecology
Courtney Sato
courtney.sato@yale.edu
Asian American History, South Asian History, 20th-century US Intellectual & Cultural History, 20th-century American Literature, Indian and Pacific Oceans Studies, Digital Humanities, Public Humanities
Claire Schwartz
claire.schwartz@yale.edu
Contemporary African American Poetics, Visual Arts, Performance Studies, Queer Theory
Pooja Sen
pooja.sen@yale.edu
Contemporary art, postcolonial theory, performance studies, media studies
Maile Speakman
maile.speakman@yale.edu
Cuban & Caribbean Studies, Queer & Feminist Theory, U.S. Empire, Digital Culture, Postcolonial Thought, Global Cities, Capitalism & Performativity, Ethnography
Janine Stockford
janine.stockford@yale.edu
Popular Music, Globalization, Casino Industry, Ethnography
Randa Tawil
randa.tawil@yale.edu
Migration and diaspora studies, critical race theory and Arab American racial formations.
Jacinda Tran
jacinda.tran@yale.edu
Critical Refugee Studies; Memory; Material and Visual Culture; Postcolonialism; Queer Theory; Cultural Geography; Violence and Security; Transnational History; Race and Ethnicity
Ila Tyagi
ila.tyagi@yale.edu
Film and Media; Classical Hollywood; Energy and the Environment; Modernism and Modernity; Nonfiction Media; Science and Technology
Damian Vergara Bracamontes
damian.vb@yale.edu
Latina/o US History, Comparative 19th and 20th Century Migration & Social Movements, Cultural Studies, (Trans)Gender & Sexuality Studies, Public Humanities
Yuhe Faye Wang
yuhe.wang@yale.edu
Gender & Sexuality, Transnational and Women of Color Feminisms, Queer of Color Critique, Cyborg Theory, Labor Theory, History of Economics, Intimacy, and the Public Humanities
Alexia Williams
alexia.williams@yale.edu
Afro-diasporic Studies, 19th- & 20th-Century American Literature, Black Feminist Literature, Black Transnationalism, Citizenship & National Identity.
Clara Wilson-Hawken
clara.hawken@yale.edu
Modern and Postmodern American literature, literary theory, feminist theory, sound theory, critical race studies, performance studies, cultural studies
Emeritus
Areas of Interest
Jon Butler
Howard R Lamar Emeritus Prof of Amer Studies, History & Religious Stud
HGS 230
jon.butler@yale.edu
David Davis
Sterling Prof Emeritus History; Dir Emeritus Gilder Lehrman Ct for the Study of Slavery
ALW 214
david.b.davis@yale.edu
John Demos
Samuel Knight Prof Emeritus History
HGS 2687
john.demos@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-2514
Kai Erikson
William R Kenan Jr Prof Emeritus of Sociology & American Studies
149 Elm St
kai.erikson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8757
John Faragher
Howard R Lamar Professor of History and American Studies
TC 31
john.faragher@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-3311
Dolores Hayden
Professor School of Architecture and American Studies
711 Rudolph Hall
dolores.hayden@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4782
Jules Prown
Paul Mellon Prof Emeritus History of Art
BAC 213
jules.prown@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2685
Alan Trachtenberg
Neil Gray Jr Prof Emeritus English and American Studies
149 Elm St, 220
alan.trachtenberg@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1828
Research Scholars
Areas of Interest
Guigui Yao
Associate Research Scholar American Studies
219 Pros, room 608
guigui.yao@yale.edu